Cheese and Cracker Brain

The first thing I’ve learned about starting a blog, is not to do it at 11pm on a Sunday night, when I have to get up for work in the morning. This caused a condition I call “cheese and cracker brain”, which is what happens when you have something on your mind that you need to take care of before anything else can occur, be it sleep or accomplishing anything at work.

This condition is so named because the first time I realized it was happening was before my niece’s second birthday, when I was asked to bring cheese and crackers to the party. Days before the party, I was awake late at night thinking about what type of cheese and what kind of crackers to bring. Cheddar, Monterey Jack, possibly pepper jack for my spicier sister. Whole grain crackers, maybe different shapes. It may not sound like a lot, but it was enough to keep me awake most of the night and then enough to keep my brain from focusing on work the next day because I was anticipating going to buy the cheese and crackers. If I had just gone to the store and got the darned cheese and crackers, I could have gone on with my life.

So the same thing happened with starting a blog. What was I going to write about? Who would ever read this? What funny stories do I have to tell? These thoughts ran through my head over and over last night.

I have a friend who insists my life would make a great comic strip or TV show. That makes me think that she either has an even more boring life than I do, or the shenanigans I get into are actually funny and/or interesting. But since I can’t draw and I can’t act, blog it is!

Cheese and Cracker Brain

Leave a Reply

